She’s Sleeping with the Fishes

IMAG4912-1-1_20140405221137486(Acrylic, oil pastel, finger nail polish)

 

He told me he hated cats; they were more useless than fucking pigeons. The corners of his mouth turn up, but only a little.  His eyes are still empty.  He told me that when he was a kid he used to catch kittens and place them in pillow cases to be tossed in the Hudson River.  He would watch them struggle and finally drown.  Sometimes it took a couple hours.  He found it to be relaxing to imagine what it felt like to be them.

He hated cats.  Maybe I really was dead when he tossed me into  the river.  I couldn’t see him through the bag, but he would have waited for me to sink.  If he imagined my thoughts of fear, he was wrong. I thought, “I never wanted to be a mermaid.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(I love this painting, the photos do not even begin to do it justice.)

5 thoughts on “She’s Sleeping with the Fishes

  1. erikamsteele says:

    Reblogged this on Feigned Affections and commented:
    I really wish I could have taken a better picture of this one. I didn’t think I would like it, but I ended up loving it. My son thinks that I am a princess and that I should only paint pretty things. This was supposed to be a mermaid, but first I lost the blue paint. After that, I bought cheap art supplies, and eventually ended up with this. My son asked me what it was, I told him that she was sleeping with the fish.

  2. digitalgranny says:

    This painting looks like she has is sleeping with the fishes.
    I think I would shave taken this dude and put his ass in a pillow case and tossed him in the hudson river and watched him drown.

  3. I LOVE this painting!
    And your words.
    The colors in the painting are perfect!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

What do you think?

